Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Our Mission: 'To increase and retain the number of individuals choosing the transit field as a career by providing scholarships and engagement opportunities to deserving student and transit professionals - our future leaders.'

Since its inception in 1988, the APTF Board of Directors has awarded more than $800,000 in scholarships to more than 200 deserving students. Our scholarships address a wide range of transportation related studies and fields for a variety of scholars. Whether you are an established transportation professional pursuing a degree or an upperclass undergraduate student, APTF extends a hand to those who see a bright future in transportation. In 2015, APTF was proud to introduce two new Named Scholarships: the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) 25th Anniversary Scholarship, and the Fran Hooper Scholarship. In 2016 we will begin awarding the Inaugural Bombardier Scholarship. We are working continuously to gauge the needs of the workforce and support the new wave of leaders whose ideas and energy will keep the transit industry moving. 

APTF has made the commitment to serve as the guiding fore in preparing transit's future leaders for the challenges of the 21st Century, but we cannot do it alone. We need your help; scholars need mentors, sponsors, and coaches. If you are interested in supporting the mission of the APTF, please see the links below for more information about our scholarships and how to contribute to the Foundation. 

American Public Transportation Foundation
1300 I Street NW
Suite 1200 East
Washington, DC 20005


Phone: 202.496.4818